Why Video Game Journals?

Because they’re fun and help me remember some of the most impressive moments from video games that I play.

A desire to further cement the memories of playing games led me to where I am today with this blog. In this post, I would like to explain that desire and how journals help me express it.

When I was about seven years old, I received a little Barbie diary. I still vaguely remember it; it had a combination lock on the cover! I had no idea what to write in it, but I do remember writing about the Super Star Wars game that we’d just gotten in it.

I wasn’t a serious diarist until 2005, when I decided to just try it. I did, for years, until late 2011 when I realized that I just ran out of things to write about unless they frustrated me. All throughout those years, however, I wrote about games that I played and saw, and gaming gossip at the time.

In 2008, I decided to try to do a video game-centric diary. It was for a game that I’d already started, but had a feeling about that I should try and keep a record of what happened in it. That game was Soul Nomad and the World Eaters, and the game’s heroine is my avatar for this blog. (You could also play as a male character, who looked similar.)

Near the end of 2009, I decided to try an omnibus journal for other games – “the best of the rest”, you could say. I was wary about starting it, but it’s become something that I can’t imagine playing games without now. Omnibus journals completely supplanted the old VGJs.

And that brings us to the present, when I’ve decided to try and share my journals on WordPress.

