“Nerd” versus “#Nerd”

In so many words...

So being a nerd has become the cool thing to do now. At one time we were ostracized. We were made fun of. We were looked at as weirdos on the fringes of society. Now nerd culture is a hashtag for a lot of people. Glasses and a video game or super hero teeshirt are all it takes to make someone a #nerd apparently. It’s not that I am upset that “nerding out” is more acceptable, I’m not going all “I liked it before it was cool” hipster on you. I think it just bothers me a bit that nerd culture has lost some of its meaning. We nerds, true nerds, have been doing this since we can remember. We were trapped in our books reading until morning, finishing book after book in a week. We were collecting Pokemon cards and trading like we were on Wall Street with million…

View original post 448 more words

