Favorite Blogs/Influences

Since it’s been a few months since I started my blog, I thought that it would be fun to share some of my favorite blogs and influences in terms of writing and my blog in a short post.

Das Sporking, a Livejournal community of sporkers who pick apart bad fiction, professionally-written or otherwise, as well as other oddities of the internet. Some of the sporkers’ usage of image macros and GIFs influenced my usage of images on my blog. There’s also the fact that it introduced me to my current favorite GIF:

fuck-this-thing-cat
He’s entertaining himself perfectly well, isn’t he?

Hardcore Gaming 101, a site full of reviews across every spectrum of genre, theme, and system. A must-visit for all gamers. HG101’s large list of themes influenced how I tag my posts.

TV Tropes influenced my writing in terms of showing the effect that italicization and boldface can have when conveying inflection.

VG Junk isn’t a strong influence, but it is a pretty fun read. This blog covers games classic and obscure with a wonderful, dry, British wit.

