What Is a Woman?! ‘Bloodstained’ & Koji Igarashi’s Female Characters

FemHype

Bloodstained: Ritual of the Night

Before I jump into my feelings on this Kickstarter and how it fares for women in games, I have to make a confession: I am a certified massive Castlevania fan. By massive, I mean that I own over 50 games in the series between re-releases and U.S./Japan copies. It’s also no coincidence that my last name starts with a ‘B,’ but I’ll leave that one aside. So when I heard that famed Castlevania producer Koji Igarashi, also known as IGA, had left Konami to make his own game … actually, I was a little worried. Konami had clearly lost interest in his games, and rumors of Igarashi’s inability to garner interest in his project were floating around the internet.

This week, however, my worry subsided as rumors were squashed by his Sword or Whip teaser website and Kickstarter announcement for Bloodstained: Ritual of the Night. Joined by development studio Inti…

View original post 1,422 more words

