Angry Lesbians & White Feminism: The Problem With Sera in ‘Dragon Age’

I haven’t played Dragon Age: Inquisition yet, but this article still brings up some good points.

FemHype

Dragon Age: Inquisition

When I heard rumblings that two canon gay characters would be featured front and center in Dragon Age: Inquisition, I was at the same time utterly thrilled and very, very wary. For the record, this particular post won’t discuss Dorian at all, though I certainly have more than enough to gripe about given how deeply unsettling it is that you can continue to aggressively flirt with him as a straight woman. Can we not play into the sassy gay friend trope anymore, devs? Please?

In any event, I’ll be focusing my attention on the first (and only) exclusively gay woman to enter into the Dragon Age franchise, and just how upset I am about the way she was handled, both before the game hit the shelves and during gameplay. For anyone who hasn’t read any of my past articles, I’ll repeat myself for clarity’s sake: I am a gay woman…

View original post 1,102 more words

