Dragon Age: Origins – July 2nd, 2011 Part One: Goodbye

July 2nd, 2011: It wasn’t pretty, but we managed to win over the people at the Landsmeet.

Loghain showed his true colors: more afraid of the Orlesians than the Blight. But the Orlesians were people that could be reasoned with, unlike Darkspawn.

Loghain engaged in single combat with Etheria. He’s one tough boss, even on Casual, capable of doing huge damage. I used Glyph of Paralysis, Mind Blast, and even Stonefist to keep distance between us.

Suddenly infected with logic, Loghain laid down his arms. “I was wrong. There’s a strength in you that I have not seen anywhere since Maric died. I yield.”

You can tell him that he’ll die for what he’s done or you can accept his surrender. Alistair objects greatly to the latter.

And this is where the consequences of my previous choices hit me all at once.

Alistair thought that Loghain deserved to die for his treachery. Before Etheria could answer, the Grey Warden that we rescued from Howe’s dungeon, Riordan, emerged with a crazy idea:

Make Loghain a Grey Warden.

Choices

My selected choices are prefaced by arrows.

You want to make him a Warden? Why?”

No, that’s crazy.”

Would that even work?”

Riordan suggested that if Loghain survived the Joining, we would gain another general against the Archdemon. Alistair objected, but Anora was more level-headed about it.

Choices

No. Loghain has to die for his crimes.”

>>”Riordan has a point, we should put him through the Joining.”

Alistair was… displeased.

Choices

So that’s it? You or him?”

>>”We need all the help we can get, Alistair.”

Not all of us have spotless honor, you know.”

Alistair suddenly jumped in and declared that, if becoming king was the requirement to bring Loghain to justice, then he would do it. Anora objected.

What do I do? I’m stuck in the middle. If I deny Alistair his revenge, I may lose him forever. And maybe Anora is right, that it’s wrong for a king to put his selfish desires above everything else. My head’s spinning.

Choices

I stand by Alistair. He’ll be the new king.”

>>”You’re right, Anora. Take the crown.”

[Persuade] I thought the two of you could marry.”

You’re siding with her?” asked Alistair. “How could you do this to me? Of all people?”

Choices

I’m trying to do what’s best for Ferelden.”

>>”I thought you hated the idea of being king.”

Even you think she’d be a better ruler.”

What’s wrong with you?” asked Alistair. “He’s repeatedly tried to kill us both, and you side with him over me?”

Choices

>>”That’s not true.”

What are you saying?”

Alistair, don’t be hysterical.”

Why can’t you realize that I’m doing this for your own good, Alistair?

He said that he was going to leave, but then Anora said that he couldn’t be left alive, for rebellions could be called in his name. Uh, no.

Choices

>>”No. You owe me a boon. Let him go, Anora.”

Anora is right. Sorry, Alistair.”

It’s about time.”

Anora agreed, but demanded that Alistair renounce his claim to the throne as well as that of his heirs.

If that’s what it’ll take, fine,” said Alistair. “I don’t want anything to do with any of you people. Ever. I swear it.”

Choices

>>”You don’t have to leave.”

You can come back if you change your mind.”

If you’re leaving, leave.”

Have fun ending the Blight, or whatever,” spat Alistair. “I guess you’ve made your decision, right?

Goodbye.”

Rarely has a goodbye sounded so… spiteful.

And that’s how you lose one of your first-ever friends from the outside world.

