The DISSIDIA Saga Part Two

January 29th, 2010: At the end of Shade Impulse Chapter 4-2, you have to face Chaos.

An odd thing about Chapter Four: There are no Destiny Point bonuses. DP are added or subtracted throughout most levels for extra items and PP upon completion.

I realized that this game has me like Resident Evil Outbreak with lots of unlockables that need to be bought with points, and scenarios that are meant to be replayed more than once.

Chaos is soooo powerful!

The game even gave me a new battle tip about Chaos! Hm.

January 30th, 2010: Quick battles don’t give out many points.

I have bonuses for a solid week! IDK if that’s ever happened before.

February 18th, 2010: I had exactly 10,000 Gil at one point!

I’ve suspected for a long time that there are more playable characters in this game.

Why is Chaos a fighter but not Cosmos?

February 22nd, 2010: Mogstache promises a quiz for my right brain starting tomorrow! Um. Isn’t it the right side of my brain? Either way, I can’t wait.

I defeated Chaos, but he just came back… oh, and he comes back again after that! He’s like a mean weed. And I had to scatter him like dandelion puffs.

The heroes of Cosmos are spirited away before Chaos and his realm melted down. The heroes found themselves in a pleasant field of flowers.

The Warrior of Light: “The battle has come to an end.”

Tidus: “Gotta go, huh…? Don’t worry. The crystal knows the rest of the way. ‘Sides, I’m always right here.” He smiled and pumped his fist before he tried to jump into the lake. His body vanished before he hit the water.

Zidane: “We’re not vanishing. We’re returning. To where we’re supposed to be.” He jumped off of a tree branch and disappeared.

Squall grabbed a feather. “Perhaps… we can go on a mission together again?” He vanished as well.

Cloud chuckled slightly and hoisted his Buster Sword over his shoulder. “Not interested.” Gone.

Terra: “I think…I’ve learned how to keep going. Thank you, and take care.” She disappeared.

Bartz: “When you’re having the most fun, that’s when time always flies.” He walked away and vanished.

Cecil: “It’s mine to pass on. This strength I’ve gained from everyone.” He stood under the moon, still visible in the daytime, before he disappeared.

Onion Knight: “Everyone…thank you.” Gone.

Firion looked at a rose that grew out of the ground. “This isn’t the end. Another dream is waiting to begin.” He faded away.

One by one, the Warriors of Cosmos disappeared without their crystals. But the Warrior of Light remained because this was his world, in the kingdom of Corneria.

May the light… forever shine upon us.”

The ending music was so pretty.

My favorite thing about the game? The fan service.

I unlocked some new scenarios, the Duel Colosseum, and new items for the PP catalog.

The Duel Colosseum is a unique mode. The progression is randomized through various types of cards. It’s not like Triple Triad, which I was initially let down by. But Duel Colosseum is far less predictable than Quick Battle.

I encountered one of the secret characters, Shantotto, a darling Tarutaru from Final Fantasy XI. I’ve know that she was in the game for quite a while.

Shantotto

February 23rd, 2010: The other “secret” character is Gabranth from Final Fantasy XII.

Shantotto is so cute! And little! It’s almost tough to defeat her. Almost.

Cloud’s midair attacks? Nearly unstoppable.

February 24th, 2010: I predicted that Sephiroth’s alt would be him without a shirt.

Squall has some good midair attacks, too.

This game is also something of a Final Fantasy encyclopedia.

The Warriors of Chaos could be unlocked for modes outside of the main story. I initially ranted about how much I thought that Ultimecia sucked.

February 26th, 2010: I tried “Distant Glory: The Lady of Legend”. At the start, Shantotto appears to mock whichever character you’ve chosen. But she promises that, if they survive, she may grace them with her (remarkably cute) presence oncemore.

The ESRB label says that this game has brief nudity! Whaaa?

March 24th, 2010: With a little patience, Ultimecia is a decent character. I did my best-ever streak on the Airship Course with her.

You know what would be cool for a sequel? Two-on-two battles!

The 2015 DISSIDIA reboot features three-on-three battles. I’M A PROPHET

If you’re annoyed playing as certain characters, just stick to Command style battles! Yes, you can even play DISSIDIA two ways!

It can be a refreshing change of pace. It can help with characters whose fighting styles dislike but still want to use anyway.

March 26th, 2010: Jecht is kind of a mean bully. His attacks are much more direct than most of the other Warriors of Chaos.

It seems that a lot of the Warriors of Chaos are mages who rely on projectiles.

March 30th, 2010: The Emperor’s moves are confusing! I’m smoking opponents without really knowing why.

May 26th, 2010: I tried Shantotto for the first time. She’s so little! She seems potentially very tough.

May 29th, 2010: I unlocked Gabranth. It was difficult and tiring, but I unlocked even more stuff than just him.

I’ve completed the heck out of this game, but it seems there’s a lot more to discover.

July 4th, 2010: I just have to tell you about my all-time best run in Duel Colosseum mode as the Onion Knight. I got tons of rare components, leveled him up tons, and beat lots of opponents. OK is one of my strongest characters.

His abilities are nasty. Good tracking, wide area of effect, and multiple hits.

The Duel Colosseum is fun because it’s so random. Final Fantasy fan service emerges in the form of randomly assigned Job Cards. The Red Mage card makes treasure 100 percent free, but unused cards are not discarded in your hand. It can make it much easier to get treasure, but you will be forced to deal with many cards that you wouldn’t have to otherwise.

This LP is a mess, so I am going to hold off on Final Thoughts for now. Instead, I will do my LP of DISSIDIA 012 Final Fantasy, which was the result of Square Enix pulling a Capcom and doing an updated rerelease of DISSIDIA. 012 has a prologue scenario featuring new playable characters, some new modes, and gameplay tweaks.

