Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World Part One: Introduction

Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World

Developer: Namco Tales Studio

Publisher: Namco Bandai

System: Nintendo Wii

Released: November 11th, 2008

What Came Before

Once, there was a world called Sylvarant. Its mana was in decline, threatening all life and magic in the world. It was time to begin the Journey of World Regeneration. To that end, the goddess Martel selected a Chosen one: Colette Brunel, a sweet and compassionate young lady.

The cast of ToS. Left to right: Genis, Lloyd, Colette, Presea, Raine, Zelos, Regal, and Sheena

Her friends Lloyd Irving (a slightly ditzy but well-meaning swordsman raised by a dwarf) and Genis Sage (a child prodigy and half-elf) as well as their teacher, Raine Sage (Genis’ older sister) joined Colette on her quest.

The quest required the Chosen to release the seals on the Summon Spirits. With each seal broken, the Chosen became less and less human and more like an angel. The final seal required the Chosen to give up their heart, the memories of their human life, and their life itself.

The party eventually learned that Sylvarant had a parasitic relationship with the mana of another world: Tethe’alla. If Sylvarant’s mana was in decline, then Tethe’alla flourished, and vice-versa. The party sought a way to sever the connection between both worlds by forming pacts with the Summon Spirits of each.

In the end, the party survived a lot of tragedy to stop Mithos Yggdrasil, a half-elf and the embittered brother of Martel, from destroying both worlds to create a new one just for himself and Martel to live in. He said that he had no regrets and would do it all over again before he was killed by Lloyd.

The heroes fused both worlds into one. Lloyd and Colette revived the Great Seed of the World Tree with the Eternal Sword (gained by forming a pact with the Summon Spirit named Origin), which provided endless mana to the fused world.

Continue reading Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World Part One: Introduction