Infinite Undiscovery Part Three/Final Thoughts and Stats

June 21, 2010: I’ve found a way to make decent cash in this game. In the Dais Cave, one of those enemies disguised as treasure chests hangs out close to the entrance. You see, you can just ext and re-enter to respawn the chest. Kill it and you rake in 8,000-plus Fol.

IIRC, Fol is the currency used in other tri-ACE games as well.

On the flip side, it gives zip for experience points. Well, 20, specifically.

It was monotonous hell, but I enjoyed by spending spree. Equipment for all!

July 8, 2012: I don’t think I ever fully realized how powerful the party is in this game. Capell has over 10K HP now.

Red → White → Blue → Yellow → Purple → Red

I got really annoyed at some puzzle involving colors. I wrote this sequence to help me understand how the colors cycle, I think?


Since you can get a new sword from a chest that can only be unlocked by a certain character, I’ll start this dungeon over. It’ll be easy.

Castle Valette, take… sigh… three.

Level ups go off like fireworks in this area.

I got a Situation Bonus for clearing the Chamber of Elements in one try.

Unlocked Ashen Assailant

I never did get that stupid sword.

Killed by baby spiders? Screw you.

June 9, 2012: The cavern is the most annoying part of this game so far, and that’s saying something. Just ignore the enemies and run as fast as you can.

After everything that’s happened, Capell turns his hatred towards lunaglyphs themselves.

It’s weird but nice to hear Capell’s voice go back to its normal tone.

Capell undergoes an emotional turnaround once he and Aya begin their relationship.

Sigmund, in the case of 17-year-old Capell, you ARE the father!

Sigmund

Just when you think the game’s story has no more tricks up its sleeve.

Not the most original trick, though.

June 10, 2012: Situation Bonus: Didn’t finish off Leonid with Capell. Bonus: 40,000 EXP!

Unlocked Vengeance at Last

Capell just goes up and punches Leonid after the battle!

Leonid the Dreadknight

Capell could not sever the Onyx Chain from Earth, so the Liberation Force decided to go to the Moon itself to destroy it. What is this, Final Fantasy IV? Which I’ve never actually beaten.

After the Aristos perform the rite of Lunar Passage, the Force can just walk right up the Chain to the Moon.

The Lunar Sanctuary is gorgeous.

Looks like my days of being a priest are over!” says Eugene. Quite.

Eugene

Unlocked Deicide

Edward is strong.

Aya’s kind of immature, despite her harsh exterior.

Before Capell smashed the Onyx Chain, he said, “Sigmund… I found happiness. I found someone who needs me. Someone who loves me. I am blessed… blessed by more friends than you can count.

I will protect this world. Please watch over me… Father.”

Savio sounded kind of like Alan Rickman.

Without Veros and the power of the Lunaglyphs, the blessed lost their power and the Aristos fell into a deep sleep.

Veros was a god. The Aristo party members knew what would happen if Verso was killed.

Edward became mayor of Burguess, Aya became the queen of her kingdom, and Eugene became a duke or something. Vic became Edward’s assistant.

The epilogue takes place two years after the final battle and is very long, just like that of Star Ocean: The Last Hope.

Eugene, now the Prime Minister of Halgita, kept getting marriage proposals. But he was married to the swingin’ bachelor life, baby. Genma suggested that he marry Komachi, but he resisted…

Balbagan teamed up with Rico and Rucha to fend off bandits in Casandra. Some bandits “kidnapped” Michelle. Bad move. She corrupted them… with kindness.

Now, we got men who want to go home and help their parents!” complained one of the bandits. And that’s terrible! “Please take this woman away from us!”

You’re just embarrassed that I saw your softer side,” insisted Michelle.

Kristofer awaited the day when his beloved Seraphina awoke. She hoped that she will actually want to see him. I’m sure she will.

Finally, Aya began to rebuild Faina and Leif’s old village, Sapran. After the day’s work was done, she wandered about the hills, when Gustac suddenly ran off. She followed him to see a man taking requests from kids.

He came back.

June 11, 2012: I don’t know how; moon magic or the power of love? But he did.

Final Thoughts

This game is such a mixed bag. I like it better than most, but it definitely had flaws. I was more patient with Capell than other gamers. The graphics and music are nice.

The game just feels janky. The basic combat is enjoyable enough, but I remember an annoying feature where you had to sheathe and unsheathe your sword; an unnecessary bit of frippery. I seem to have gotten quite annoyed with the game at one point, leading to my break of two years from it. I recall the lock-on controls being finicky as well.

I was annoyed with the divide between secondary and main party members. Why create a cast of cool sub-characters that I can barely use?

An untapped part of the game is that you could unlock characters’ Traits, such as their favorite foods and what animals they hate. The latter would negatively impact their stats if they encountered monsters that they were afraid of, such as Aya’s “Bug Hater” trait.

The game had a lot of interesting and deep features, but a fair bit of it is hidden behind secret objectives, like the Situation Bonuses.

IU also had item creation, which feels more like the traditional IC in Star Ocean: The Second Story than the IC in SO: TLH.

As their games’ scores slip further and further, I wonder if tri-ACE lost their mojo. Come to think of it, the only game of theirs that I universally love is SO: TSS, the first game of theirs that I ever played. Everything else, even if it’s good, pales in comparison.

Is IU worth experiencing? I think it depends on your patience level. IU embodies some of the excesses of the traditional JRPG, like a cast that mainly consists of young and sometimes juvenile characters (this aspect really chafes certain Western reviewers) and a plot that can be a bit cliched. I remember a reviewer (I think it was in play magazine) who almost had an aneurysm over an innuendo-laden scene between Capell and Faina early on. Faina was trying to offer Capell a reward – “anything” he wanted. As it turned out, Faina was the one who really meant “anything”.

In the end, though I have fond memories of it, IU is in the B-tier of tri-ACE’s catalog. I would not put it on the same level as SO: TLH considering that I actually liked that game’s plot, even if the gameplay was more traditional than IU‘s. If you disliked SO: TLH, you should probably steer far away from IU. However, I would still put it far above Resonance of Fate. “The RPG you should have played instead of Final Fantasy XIII”, my butt. At least XIII‘s gameplay makes sense and the battle system can actually be learned.

Considering that the Xbox 360 had an actual and very large and varied library of JRPGs compared to the original Xbox, IU fits more in the lower tier of XB360 JRPGs.

Final Stats

Time: 33 hours. The campaign’s short length was another point of contention for the game. I think that not every RPG has to be 70-plus hours long if it’s just going to be bloated.

534, 894 gold

These are the final stats for the party that I had in my final save: Capell, Aya, Rucha, and Edward.

Capell

Aya

Rucha

Edward

HP

12707

7873

7608

11863

MP

1633

1900

2524

1076

Attack

1416

888

652

1281

Defense

576

490

361

551

Hit

375

474

309

273

Agility

157

236

143

105

Intelligence

274

288

1102

184

My Formula

Sometimes, I like to calculate which characters are the best statistically in RPGs. My formula is to assign a number value for the character’s rank in terms of how their stats compare to the other characters. For example, a Fighter will likely rank first in terms of strength in a party of four characters, giving them four points. But, compared to the Mage or Cleric, they will likely place last in intelligence, so they would only get one point. And so on, and so forth.

With that probably overcomplicated explanation out of the way, how does the final four compare?

  1. Capell: Twenty-two points overall (first in HP, ATK, and DEF)

  2. Aya: Nineteen points overall (first in HIT and AGL)

  3. Rucha: Fifteen points overall (first in MP and INT)

  4. Edward: Thirteen points overall (last in MP, HIT, AGI, and INT – ouch)

