Shin Megami Tensei: Nocturne Part Eight: Mot

The Diet Building. Huh. I expected something more… ominous.
I just wanted to explore a hallway when this fire guy came outta nowhere to scorch me!

Surt

Boss?: Surt|Resists: Physical|Drains: Fire|Skills: Ragnarok, Beast Eye, Dekunda, Retaliate, Hell Thrust, Tempest

What an awful ambush. He uses Ragnarok, an attack that’s all but devastating to demons vulnerable to fire… and curse/death, if Pazuzu’s constant absorption of his attacks is any indication. Surt only rarely so much as breathes without using Beast Eye as well.

Boss: Mada|Drains: Physical|Skills: Hades Blast, Agidyne, Beast Eye (AGAIN… this must be the part of the game where they ran out of new abilities to give to bosses), Debilitate, Dekunda, Gathering, Intoxicate

Another horrific boss, he hits hard with Hades Blast (200+ points of damage) and Agidyne. His absorption of physical attacks makes him an even bigger pain than Surt. Much to my horror, he used Gathering to summon good ol’ Pazuzu, who uses Mediarama. Whatever you do, just don’t bring a weak healer into battle with Mada.

These Jinn enemies in the Diet Building are horribly creepy with their easily manipulated mugs.

Mada’s Hades Blast has a high critical hit rate, too.

OH NO I FOUND MOT

Mot

Boss: Mot|Weakness: Electricity|Reflects: Force|Resists: Physical|Skills: Dragon Eye, Makakaja, Megidolaon, Dekunda, Mazandyne, Avenge (basically a nastier version of Counter), Tempest

This guy is considered difficult… why, exactly? With the right skills, you can exploit his weakness, debilitate him, recover from his attacks, and make him waste turns with Mazandyne. I found Mot to be much easier than Surt and/or Mada.

I thought I’d get something really good for getting 10 Lucky Tickets.

In the eastern wing of the Diet Building, a terrifying demon named Mithra appeared “to ask thee questions to test thine alignment.

Kazuhiko, dost thou accept that thou art a demon?”

Of course I’m a demon.”

>>”No, I’m not a demon.”

Physically, I’m a demon. I’ve spilled the blood of countless demons since the Conception.

‘Tis true that thou art the bane of creation… Infidel! This cannot be forgiven! I shall stamp thee out of existence!”

…so I guess I gave the wrong answer?

Boss: Mithra|Skills: Debilitate, Dragon Eye, Mamudoon, Megidola

A pathetically simple boss fight. If you’ve gotten this far, then you already know how to protect against Mamudoon. He wastes a lot of turns using Debilitate.

O Kagutsuchi… Hath the destroyer… appeared? Or is he…?”

I refused to just watch Hikawa summon his god, so he sent his “faithful servant”, Samael, after me.

Boss: Samael|Skills: Megidola, God’s Curse (random ailments), Rakukaja, Retaliate, Beast Eye

This guy has a ton of HP, so that combined with Rakukaja will make this fight last a while. His most annoying attacks are God’s Curse and Retaliate, but with good healing and even Tetrakarn, you can counter him well enough.

Hikawa fused with his god, Ahriman. Takao-sensei disappeared into the void with him, but she somehow gave me the Yahirono Himorogi and told me to return to the Amala Temple. There, the path to Kagutsuchi will be revealed…

She returned to the light.

I thought that Sakahagi used all the Magatsuhi in the Yahirono Himorogi when he summoned Grimehelka. Did Takao-sensei store extra Magatsuhi in it for me to use it? Where’d she get it from?

Kagutsuchi beckoned me to the central temple. I placed the Yahirono Himorogi into the pedestal, and the Tower of Kagustuchi was erected atop the Obelisk.

The theme song for the reformed Obelisk is frickin’ sweet.

Surt (Surts?) are (slightly nerfed) random encounters at the ToK.

The Manikins are trying to climb the Tower, too! Ugh.

I mastered the Gehenna Magatama and unlocked the Master title.

The Tower is intimidating as all hell. Complex design, deadly demons… I’m not sure if I want to beat this game yet.

I hate these Gurr demons. You can take your Bolt Storm and go rub a balloon!

I can’t figure out where to go in the Tower.

There’s a door in Ikebukuro that will only open if your Strength is high enough. Unfortunately, you can’t “cheat” with a Strength-enhancing Magatama.

If you enter the Cathedral of Shadows when Kagutsuchi is in a new phase, you get a different theme song there, too.

Boss: Ahriman|Skills: Zandyne, Bufudyne, Mabufudyne, Agidyne, Megidolaon (second form), Apocalypse (second form), Dekunda, Tentacle, Dekaja

First form: Meh. I did more damage to him after several Rakundas than I’d done to any other enemy in the game.

Second form:

I cast Sukukaja and Fog Breath to the max to capitalize on Ahriman’s relatively low agility. Needless to say, turns where Apocalypse and Megidolaon miss completely are very happy turns indeed.

…It’s so quiet… Too quiet…” said Hikawa. “…I see, the stillness has come for me…

Wielder of strength… Champion of want… Mold the world to your liking.

It is no longer of my concern…”

>>You obtained the Earthstone.

I somehow expected more from a god. :/