Animal Crossing: New Leaf Part One: Welcome to Ylisstol

Welcome to your new life!”

Animal Crossing: New Leaf | Platform: Nintendo 3DS | Developer: Nintendo EAD | Publisher: Nintendo of America| Originally Played From: March 7, 2014 – November 21, 2016 | Originally Released (North America): June 9, 2013 | Released (Japan): November 8, 2012 | Released (Europe): June 14, 2013 | Released (Australia): June 15, 2013

It’s a new dawn, it’s a new day, it’s a New Leaf… and I’m feelin’ good.

Rover: “Haven’t done this much traveling by train since 2002 or so… Man, that’s weird.” Heh heh.

Rover, the friendly cat who greets you at the beginning of every Animal Crossing game

I think that I did pretty much everything I can do for today. My house won’t be ready ‘til tomorrow.

Porter is flirting with me! He said I’m quite the looker in my town Pass Card!

Porter

Nobody else’s town is available to visit right now.

The music and sound effects are quite cute and/or lovely.

You can actually visit an island in this game. The manual says that “sharing of images/audio/video/long text data” can’t be restricted under parental controls on the island. I wonder why?

You need mutual friend list registration to visit someone else’s town.

At Nooklings, you can buy a Fortune Cookie for two Play Coins. Finally, something to do with them!

I got fortune #40, which says it foresees a lot of red in my future. It all makes sense when you redeem the fortune for a Virtual Boy!

This New House

I got mah house finally. I’m already gonna renovate the exterior, because I caaan~

Isabelle is adorable.

Isabelle, the cute Shih Tzu, is your mayoral assistant

Did Scoot just call me “ladybro”?

Scoot, a duck villager with a jock personality

I like all of my villagers because they’re cute and/or cool and friendly.

I got stung by bees THREE TIMES already. I think there are more bees in this game than in the others.

In Animal Crossing, you can shake trees not just to find fruit, but to find insects and sometimes even furniture. However, you stand a chance of finding a hive full of bees instead. The bees can be caught with your net if your reflexes are fast enough. They can then be donated to Blathers at the museum or sold to Tom Nook.

I really enjoy the laid-back pace and freedom of this game.

Elvis thinks I’m cute, too!

Elvis, the cranky lion villager

A bear named Maple moved in. It threw me for a loop because I use the name “Maple” in other games, so at first, I was like, “Who’s this new person that Isabelle said moved into the village?” Even though my name is Mimi in this game.

Maple the bear

Isabelle has a cute twin brother named Digby who works for the Happy Home Academy. Yes, the HHA… has evolved. They judge your whole house now, I guess. I haven’t been evaluated yet. When I do, I bet it’ll be a treat, because my interior and exterior are so jumbled up. I’ve just been grabbing whatever basic items I can get so far. I can’t remember if I cared about themes and cohesion in the earlier games, but for NL, I think it’s time to step up my game.

Digby

Ylisstol has cherries, just like Takasu, my town in Animal Crossing: City Folk. That was the AC that I played the least out of all of them so far.

Every town generated in AC has its own randomly chosen fruit grown on the trees. Other types of fruit from other towns is worth more at retail… and you can plant them to grow them in your own town!

We finally got our town development permit, but it won’t be ready until at least tomorrow.

Scoot: “My feet are so muscular that no dirt sticks to them. Your floors are safe!” He’s such a funny bro.

Public works projects and ordinances are expensive. Thousands and thousands of bells.

In other AC games, I liked to fill up my houses with fun stuff that you could interact with, or stuff from other Nintendo games. Only in the first game did I try to complete a furniture set, the Blue series, and never quite got it. In NL, I’d like some kind of harmony between designs. It’ll be a long process, but fun.

The Fishing Tournament’s coming up this Saturday and people have fishing on the brain.

Punchy is so cute! His house is full of Blue furniture. I don’t think he has a full set, though.

A great thing about AC is how villagers’ houses will change as you give them new stuff.

Sprinkle wants to meet at my house at two o’clock!

Sprinkle the penguin

You get a lot of repeat stuff from fortune cookies.

I messed up my meeting with Sprinkle somehow. I sent her a kanji tee to make up for it.

She doesn’t seem to be holding it against me, though.

If you get a “perfect” piece of fruit, you can plant it to get a tree that will bear perfect fruit!

Punchy gave me a polka dot table!

I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to pull it off, but I LOVE my Eye of Naga design for our town flag now.

I tried to recreate Jill Valentine’s outfit from Resident Evil 3: Nemesis, but it didn’t quite work. Maybe I’ve made a mistake by making it a shirt instead of a dress.