Tactics Ogre: Let Us Cling Together Part One: Good Company

260389-tactics-ogre-let-us-cling-together-psp-front-cover

Rise up soldiers and prepare for battle!”

Tactics Ogre: Let Us Cling Together| Developer/Publisher: Square Enix| Platform: PlayStation Portable| Released (North America): February 15, 2011| Released (Europe): February 25, 2011| Released (Japan): November 11, 2010| Originally Played From: August 29, 2012 – July 4, 2018

It’s the European version, for some reason.

Yeah, funny story… I neglected to realize that I ordered the EU version instead of the North American version. Good thing that the PSP is not region locked.

The music sounds a lot like Final Fantasy Tactics.

I renamed the hero “Michael”, the male version of my name, because his default name, Denam, didn’t mean anything to me.

Apparently, the Xytegenian calendar relates to our calendar as such:

January: Godscale

February: Earthscale

March: Waterscale

April: Shadowscale

May: Whitescale

June: Windscale

July: Goldscale

August: Stormscale

September: Seascale

October: Blackscale

November: Twinscale

December: Firescale

So “my” birthday is the 13th of Goldscale.

Once you pick your birthday, you are presented with a personality quiz with randomized questions themed after tarot cards.

IX. The Hermit

Have no fear of failure.

A sage will grant you a single piece of wisdom. What would you learn of him?”

The secret of victory.”

The secret of wealth.”

>>”The secret of winning hearts.”

More party members? I can get behind that.

V. The Hierophant

Order is a golden shackle.

Of the many evils men do, which is the most necessary?”

Sacrificing others.”

Stealing from others.”

>>”Deceiving others.”

XV. The Devil

All must bear indignity.

A devil will grant you any wish… for a price. What are you willing to endure?”

Complete isolation.”

Relentless fear.”

>>”Grotesque disfigurement.”

XI. Justice

Truth is an exacting ally.

How would you bring together two disparate clans?”

By religion.”

By force.”

>>”By diplomacy.”

Duh!

X. Wheel of Fortune

Opportunity knocks but once.

You stand at the end of a hard-fought battle. Why have your forces lost?”

Poor leadership.”

Inadequate troops.”

>>”Ill luck.”

I can maybe control the other two, but luck?

Which path will you walk? The curtain rises…”

Ogre Battle Saga Episode VII: Let Us Cling Together

Chapter 1: There is blood on my hands, how long till it lies in my heart?

Michael, his sister Catiua (how are you supposed to pronounce that?), and their mutual friend, Vyce, attempted to ambush the dark knight, Lanselot, only to find a totally different Holy Knight of Xenobia with the same name.

>>1. “You must forgive our error.”

2. “Stay on your guard, sister!”

Lanselot and his group were banished from Xenobia, so now, they work as mercenaries. They offer to assist our trio in rescuing Duke Ronwey from Almorica Castle.

Lanselot: “Would you have our aid?”

>>1. “I would.”

2. “There is no need.”

Catiua: “Why do you not need me, brother? You are the only one bound to me by blood.” She asks Michael to promise her, “Never leave your sister.”

Before Michael can answer, Vyce calls him to join the others. He tells Cat that she can’t coddle Michael forever.

Catiua: “Do not speak to me of my brother. He does not share your lust for blood.”

Vyce: “I have no love of war. But I’d sooner die on my feet than on my knees.”

I had guessed that Vyce was the chaos to Cat’s order, but he’s listed as having a neutral alignment, just like Michael. Vyce is the most hot-headed of the trio, however.

The translation seems excellent, and the character portraits are awesome. I like how the text boxes are more comic book-esque.

The graphics are a little pixellated, but the spell effects look nice.

After years of playing Final Fantasy Tactics Advance on a smaller screen, it feels weird playing a similar game on the PSP’s wide screen.

I see how the game relates to other Tactics/Ogre Battle games.

I named my order of knights after Toni, one of my cats.

She disappeared a long time ago. I don’t like to think about it.

Heh, Vyce and Canopus bicker during battle, throwing things at each other.

Canopus can counterattack with his bow. Useful… and now, that skill is all mine!

The flag that they show after you win a battle is so cool!

Enemies can and will steal loot dropped by their fallen friends. Grr!

Also, if you don’t pick up a tarot card before a battle is over, you won’t be able to get it.

The Necromancer Nuisance

A unit that picks up a card can randomly get a stat increase.

It’s kind of cool how you can aim outside of your targeting range… even though your hit percentage plummets.

The animation for changing classes is so cute.

The Duke wanted us to slay a necromancer named Nybeth. He asked us to let him go free.

1. “Surrender, and I will not harm you.”

>>2. “To the darkness with you!”

He makes zombies. We can’t have that. Plus, I see no reason to please him instead of our Duke.

Undead are annoying.

Y’know what? Rune Fencers/Valkyries suck.